In Shearl Maynard's rendering of the old Cluff Ward Meeting house, the building stands as a simple outpost of community and refuge. It was built for the young settlement in the east part of Coalville, a ward established around 1860 by coal miners originally called simply "East Ward." The name was changed in 1909 to Cluff Ward in honor of then President W.W. Cluff. The Cluff House was built on Chalk Creek Road that same year.
Shearl Maynard presents the structure it as it was in its salad days, humble but stalwart. Shearl Savage Maynard is a self-taught artist who has been painting all her life. Her specialty and favorite subjects are scenery and portraits. One of her paintings can be seen in England at the historic chapel, The Gadfield Elm. She was inspired to paint the Cluff Ward to raise funds for the restoration project currently underway for the building. She has a daughter and lives in Draper, Utah.
2012 Council Award