COVID-19 RESOURCES FOR ARTISTS

CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) RESOURCE CENTER FOR ARTISTS

Artwork Archive continues to gather and create resources in response to this global pandemic. Our business is devoted to supporting artists, and at this time, it is even more crucial to share those opportunities to help artists maintain their businesses along with their physical and mental well-being. 

While the situation continues to unfold, we will keep this page updated as news and information becomes available.

Please contact us if you have any information to share on this page.

 

RESOURCES FOR FINANCIAL RELIEF FOR ARTISTS
 

UNITED STATES:

Adolph & Esther Gottlieb Emergency Grant

Intended to provide interim financial assistance to qualified, mature visual artists whose needs are the result of an unforeseen, catastrophic incident, and who lack the resources to meet that situation. The maximum amount of this grant is $15,000; an award of $5,000 is typical. To quality, you must be a visual artists (music, theater, dance, and writing are not covered by this grant) working professionally in a mature phase of your career for at least ten years. 

 

CERF+ (Craft Emergency Relief Fund)

CERF+ provides rapid relief and career recovery loans through their own grants (for artists working in craft disciplines) as well as a list of emergency resources for artists in other disciplines. Additionally, CERF+ just launched the COVID-19 Response Fund to support artists working in craft disciplines. "This fund is essential to our rapid and effective response to those artists who are suffering severe health impacts from the coronavirus, ensuring that CERF+ has the funds necessary to respond to this unprecedented crisis," said CERF in an email release. If you are able, please donate to the CERF+ COVID-19 Response Fund.

 

Artists' Charitable Fund

Colorado-based Artists' Charitable Fund assists American visual fine artists (painters and sculptors) living anywhere in the United States by paying a portion of their medical/dental/eye-care bills. For example, the Fund has purchased a wheelchair, paid for eye surgery, provided funding for an artificial leg, paid partial medical expenses of several artists who have cancer, as well as other needs for medical assistance. You can find out more about the fund as well as donate here

 

Artists' Fellowship, Inc.

The Artists’ Fellowship provides emergency aid to professional fine artists and their families in times of sickness, natural disaster, bereavement or unexpected extreme hardship.

The organization defines eligibility to “Professional” is defined as those visual artists who make their livelihood through sales as reported on a Schedule C with a U.S. Federal tax return. An active exhibition history is also an important part of documenting “professional.” You can find the application here.

 

Foundation for Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant

Emergency Grants offers immediate assistance to artists that have sudden, unanticipated opportunities to present their work to the public when there is insufficient time to seek other sources of funding. Artists should be living and working anywhere in the United States, though projects can occur in the U.S. and abroad.

Each month FCA receives an average of 95 Emergency Grant applications and makes approximately 12-15 grants. Grants range in amount from $500 to $2,500, and the average grant is now $1,600.

These grants do not cover life-related emergencies such as food, rent, medical bills, childcare, and other basic necessities, reimbursement for expenses that you have already incurred, or projects with no scheduled exhibition or performance dates, so look closely at the requirements and limitations.

 

Haven Foundation

The Haven Foundation provides financial assistance up to  $10,000 to artists who have a health crisis; grants are one-year, and the financial amount provided is to the discretion of the Foundation. Grants can be renewed up to four more years, with a supplemental application. Read the guidelines for application here.

 

Rauschenberg Emergency Grants

The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) and the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation partnered to offer a new medical emergency aid program for artists. The one-time Rauschenberg Emergency Grants will provide visual and media artists and choreographers with up to $5,000 to cover a number of unforeseen medical expenses. There is no deadline; applications will be accepted and reviewed by the panel on a monthly basis beginning in late May/early June 2020. 

 

National Coalition for Arts' Preparedness & Emergency Response (NCAPER)

NCAPER is a voluntary task force of national, regional, state, and local arts organizations, public agencies, and foundations, NCAPER helps ensure that artists, arts/cultural organizations, cultural funders, and arts businesses have the capacity and ability to respond effectively to disasters and emergencies affecting the arts and culture sector.

 

Sustainable Arts Foundation
Awards supporting artists and writers with families with up to $6,000.


 

Equal Sound Corona Relief Fund

If you are a musician who has lost income due to a canceled gig as a result of the Coronavirus / Covid-19 outbreak, this new grant provides monetary support to musicians who have lost income due to a canceled gig as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak.

 

Arts and Culture Leaders of Color Emergency Fund 

The Arts and Culture Leaders of Color Emergency Fund is intended to help those pursuing careers as artists or arts administrators whose income has been directly impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. This fund is for those who self-identify as BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color).

 

Charlottesville Emergency Relief Fund 

Artists can request up to $300 to compensate for scheduled work that was scheduled and lost. Artists are eligible to apply for loss of income regardless of whether the income was from art or other jobs. Artists must live in the Charlottesville area including the city of Charlottesville or the counties of Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, or Nelson.

 

 

 

UNITED STATES BY REGION:

Boston Artist Relief Fund

The Boston Artist Relief Fund will award grants of $500 and $1000 to individual artists who live in Boston whose creative practices and incomes are being adversely impacted by Coronavirus. The application opens Monday, March 16.

 

ArtsGreensboro

ArtsGreensboro has launched a relief fund for artists in the Greater Greensboro NC area who have experienced a loss of income due to the COVID-19 pandemic. You can apply or donate to the fund here. One hundred percent of proceeds go directly to benefit local Greensboro artists.

 

Max’s Kansas City Project

Max’s Kansas City Project provides emergency funding and resources to professional artists in the creative arts who live in New York state. Grants of up to $1,000 are given to artists that demonstrate a financial need for medical aid, legal aid, or housing. 

 

Seattle Artist's Relief Fund

The Seattle Artist's Relief Fund is a crowd-sourced financial relief fund that is already distributing financial relief to artists in the Seattle area. The GoFundMe campaign has reached $144,000 in just its first week and has already received 600 applications. This fund is for individual artists only who live in the greater Seattle area, not organizations or nonprofits. Donate if you can and apply if you need assistance.

 

The Mayer Foundation grant 

The Mayer Foundation grant provides economic relief to New York artists who are distressed or suffering from lack of financial resources as a result of natural or civil disasters, or from temporary impoverishment, loss of employment, death or incapacity of a family wage earner or damage to home and property. The grant also provides healthcare to those who cannot afford it or whose health insurance or financial resources are insufficient to cover their medical needs. The grant is up to $2,500 and is reviewed on a quarterly basis. 

 

Greater Atlanta COVID-19 Response and Recovery Fund 

United Way of Greater Atlanta’s 2-1-1 Contact Center is helping address the negative impacts of the coronavirus in the communities. Call if you need assistance and check the website if you are able to donate to the fund.

 

Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council 

The Emergency Fund for Artists will now provide up to $500 in assistance to artists experiencing loss of income due to the coronavirus outbreak. The Emergency Fund also remains available for other unforeseen emergencies that may impact your ability to work, such as flood, theft, or fire.

 

Denver Arts & Venues: IMAGINE 2020 Artist Assistance Fund 

This fund was started to  support individual artists who are experiencing immediate, unforeseen emergency needs due to COVID-19.

Through the IMAGINE 2020 Artist Assistance Fund, Denver Arts & Venues has allocated $130,000 towards grants of up to $1,000 to individual artists who live in Denver whose incomes are being adversely affected due to cancellation of events, classes, performances, and other creative work.

 

Arrowhead Regional Arts Council 

This program provides grants of up to $750 for artists and organizations in Minnesota to do art projects online or in other forms during the current shutdown of arts venues. This grant is for artists and organizations who have had projects cancelled or postponed due to COVID-19.

 

 

 

INTERNATIONAL:

Artist + Activist Relief Fund 

This fund, created by The Soze Foundation, TaskForce and Invisible Hand, will support artists and activists whose work has been impacted by COVID-19. We will be making $250 grants to selected applicants on an on-going basis.

 

Canada:

National Arts Center and Facebook Canada

The Facebook-National Arts Centre Fund for Performing Artists will provide $100,000 in artists fees to support online performances between now and March 31, 2020 to help ease financial strain for those impacted by the closure of performance venues across Canada related to COVID-19.

 

National Theater School of Canada

The National Theatre School of Canada (NTS) is allocating $60,000 in support of emerging artists (as 80 grants of $750). These funds will be granted to theatre artists in training, or artists who have completed a theatre training program within the past five years, to present a piece of art online.

 

Canada Council Funding and Support for Artists

The Canadian government is offering a variety of support to artists who are affected by Coronavirus. For Canadian artists abroad there is a travel fund for artists to return to Canada. There are also Emergency Care Benefits for artists unable to earn money due to Coronavirus.

 

 

Europe:

Belgium: The Flanders Agency

The Flanders Agency for Innovation and Entrepreneurship is working to provide monthly stipends for self employed people who are not able to work during Coronavirus. The monthly benefit is € 1,291.69 without family expenses and € 1,614.10 with family expenses. 

 

Finland : Kone Foundation 

The Kone Foundation is offering an at home artist in residency support program to fund artists over a three month period. Monthly funds range by artist experience, €2,400 (early career), €2,800 (mid-career), and €3,500 (experienced artist).

 

The Swedish Cultural Foundation and the Swedish Association in Finland

The Swedish Cultural Foundation and the Swedish Association for the Arts have each decided to direct € 200,000 to the new grant form "Culture in the meantime". In the spring, a total of € 400,000 will be distributed for art practitioners and cultural workers who are hit hard financially by the corona crisis.

 

Ireland: The Civic Theater Ireland

The Civic Theater has created a fund to provide financial relief to Irish artists experiencing lost income related to COVID-19. Small grants of up to €500 will be paid rapidly on a first-come, first-served basis to affected artists and groups.

 

 

UNITED KINGDOM: 

Arts Council of England

The Arts Council of England is providing £160 million of emergency funding available for those organisations and individuals who will need it during this crisis. The council is also making £20 million of financial support available to individuals ( artists, creative practitioners and freelancers), so they can better sustain themselves, and their work, in the coming months.


 

ASIA:

 

The Hong Kong Arts Development Council

The Hong Kong Arts Development Council is funding 150 million HK Dollars to subsidise arts organisations, groups and practitioners having work from February to April impacted by COVID-19. This funding includes performances, exhibitions, rehearsals, preparation and post-event work. 

 

Singapore Unbound Relief Fund (SURF) 

Creative writers, whether they are Singapore citizens living anywhere in the world or Permanent Residents of Singapore, may apply for a USD200/SGD280 grant from SURF with no strings attached. This fund is specifically intended to help those in dire need of immediate help.


 

ADDITIONAL FINANCIAL RELIEF LISTS & LINKS

 

Artwork Archive’s Financial Relief Resources for Artists During COVID-19

COVID-19 and Freelance Artists


 

RESOURCES TO RUN AN ART CAREER ONLINE

 

Digital Tools for Artists to Run a Remote Career During Coronavirus 



 

RESOURCES FOR STAYING CONNECTED WHILE SHELTERING-IN-PLACE

 

How to Experience Art & Culture During Coronavirus

Creative Prompts for Art Projects During Social Distancing

Meditations to Ease the Artist’s Mind




 

RESOURCES TO SUPPORT THE ARTS (fundraisers etc)

 

How to Support Artists and the Arts During COVID-19

Americans for the Arts' Response Center 

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more